Teeks has the kind of voice people whisper about. When you’re lucky enough to hear him sing, your jaw will drop a little. Or your eyes will widen and you’ll say something about shivers under your breath, or point at the tiny goosebumps forming on your forearms – although none of that really describes the magic of his voice with any accuracy. The fact that 23-year-old Te Karehana Gardiner-Toi (as his family know him) is completely unassuming about his talents only makes him more appealing as an artist. He’s a clever, kind, committed songwriter, and he’s on the road to big things. He won the Emerging Artist Award at the Waiata Māori Music Awards in 2015, participated in the elite Songhubs programme in February, and recently spent time in New York recording his debut EP The Grapefruit Skies, which is out on 23 June.

Pere Wihongi - Maimoa Music


The Maimoa Music group, best known for their hit song Maimoatia, is made up of 12 artists; Pere Wihongi, Tawaroa Kawana, Puawai Taiapa, Hoeata Maxwell-Blake, Mereana Teka, Awatea Wihongi, Nathaniel Howe, Raniera Blake, Makaira Berry, Te Awhina Kaiwai-Wanikau, Metotagivake Shmidt-Peke, Kia Kaaterama Kiri-Pou.

Te Aute Collier

Te Aute Collier is an arranger, composer and an Instrument specialist who incorporates everything he has learnt from all his years experience as a soundtrack person and general musician. He used to practice and learn covers and study the Backings of songs.

Howie Morrison Jnr

The son of Sir Howard Morrison, Howie Morrison Jnr, has been performing professionally since 1985: accompanied by his father, with his own trio the Howie Morrison Showband (accompanied by Russell Harrison and Chris Powley), and as a solo artist. During his career he’s worked alongside some of Aotearoa’s entertainment industry greats like John Rowles, Tui Teka, Billy T James, Frankie Stevens, and Dalvanius just to name a few. His music is easy listening, with classic soul influences. His series of singles, to be released throughout 2017 combine Te Reo Māori and English.

Rob Ruha

Rob Ruha is a multi award winning singer/songwriter from Aotearoa. His unique style of music has been described as an eclectic mix of soul-roots-reggae with RnB licks, laced with rock-blues and bohemian-jazz-fusion accents. Grounded on a bed of the tribal rhythms and the pulse of haka and mōteatea, Rob explains his brand of music as “Haka-soul”. His vocal prowess is typical of his Māori people – powerful, textured and exposed. As a songsmith, Robs genius lies in that rare ability of weaving together sound and rhythm that bring to life the lyrics and themes of the song.

In 2011, Rob was approached to record two of his compositions entitled ‘Hotuhotu’ (featuring Ria hall, released 30 March, 2011) and ‘Pūngāwerewere’ (Performed by Rongomai Taiapa) for the Māori compilation album ‘He Kohikohinga.’ ‘Hotuhotu’ was a finalist at the 2012 Māori Music Awards for the ‘Most Played Waiata in Te Reo Māori.’


Tauira was formed in Otaki in 1986. From its inception, Tauira has focused on the Mäori language and the group has recorded a considerable variety of contemporary songs composed in Mäori. In 1988 Tauira released their first collection of songs titled ‘He Iti Na Mötai’ recorded at Radio New Zealand. Their second collection is titled ‘He Mäori Ahau’ and was recorded by Nigel Stone at Marmalade Studios in Wellington. Some songs from these two earlier collections appear on this new album, however ‘Ake! Ake!’ principally comprises a new group of previously unreleased songs.

House Of Shem

House of Shem is a roots reggae band from New Zealand. They have had songs featured on the Conscious Roots compilations. In May 2008, their debut album, Keep Rising was released throughout New Zealand. It was released again in April 2009 throughout Australia and Hawaii. In April 2010, House of Shem started recording their second album Island Vibration with engineer and producer Errol Brown who has worked with many well known reggae bands and artists such as Bob Marley & The Wailers, Gregory Isaacs, Ziggy Marley and The Melody Makers. The album was released in New Zealand on 14 February 2011. In 2013 they released their third album, Harmony, on which they worked with Jamaican engineer Errol Brown and are currently working on new music.